Student senate hopefuls come together for election meeting



Applicants nervously confirmed their platforms for the upcoming general election for the student senate at the mandatory candidate’s meeting this morning.

Applications stating each candidate’s platform were due Thursday, March 12. While required to state their position prior, hopeful representatives had the opportunity to change their platforms during the meeting.

“Go for what you want to go for,” said Colette Brown, current student body president.

One week prior to the start of elections, write-in candidates will have the opportunity to submit a completed application indicating which position they hope to run for.

Campaign week will begin Monday, March 16, and will end the following Friday. Candidates may conduct their campaigning between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 7:00 p.m. on either West or East campuses.

“I would like all campaigns to be run with civility and respect,” said ASG Advisor Amy Collins.

“Keep it clean, keep it nice, and keep it respectful.”

General elections will be held online starting at 8:00 a.m. on Monday, March 23, and end at 4:00 p.m. on Thursday, March 26.

Results for the election will be announced at the student senate meeting on Friday, March 27.

Contested candidates for the 2015 elections are as follows:

  • Nicholas Steil – President
  • David Kim – President
  • Mathew Marino – President
  • Isaac Eaves – President
  • Josh Villanueva – Vice President of Senate Affairs
  • Mark Unger – Vice President of Senate Affairs
  • Maggie Cabrera – Student Advocate
  • Joanna Alvarez – Student Advocate
  • Keisha Talamera – Student Advocate

Uncontested candidates are as follows:

  • Bryanna Siguenza – Vice President of External Affairs
  • Yeihoon Choi – Vice President of Finance and Operations
  • Tyler Gibson – Student Trustee
  • Lexi Valas – Commissioner of Clubs
  • Isabelle Doerschlag – Public Relations Officer
  • Ethan Bertrand – Senator at Large