Student senate appoints new senators, officers

Marissa Villaseñor and Marissa Villaseñor

April 25–The Associated Students Senate has appointed a total of eight new senators and officers for the coming 2008-2009 school year.

Taking the place of current Associated Student Body president, Tom Fitzgerald, is German international student Tanja Khosrawipour.

“I’m very excited,” Khosrawipour said. “It’s a very big honor.”

Instead of traditional online elections held on Pipeline for students, the senate ratified the candidates as allowed through a set of bylaws held by the Senate.

The reason why standard elections were not held was because the positions available were uncontested, said Ann Fryslie, director of Student Life.

The ratification for the new members were held at a weekly senate meeting. With only one student running per position, the candidates were not required to campaign against another student.

With current senators and officers transferring to new schools, recruiting and electing new members was an important issue, Fitzgerald said.

Khosrawipour said she could represent the international students and help American students get to know them more.

List of new Senators and officers:

  • Student Body President: Tanja Khosrawipour
  • Vice President of External Affairs: Deirdre Jones
  • Vice President of Internal Affairs: Camila Avendano
  • Student Trustee: Sean Knotts
  • Commissioner of Clubs: Atsiylah Garfinkel
  • Public Relations Officer: Jessica Aparicio
  • Senator at Large: Elena Perez
  • Senator at Large: Laurent Serra