Committee needs students to nominate next faculty lecturer

Antonio Salcido, Staff Writer

The search is on for next year’s faculty lecturer and students are encouraged to vote for their favorite teacher.

The deadline for nomination is 4 p.m., Tuesday, April 30.  Nominations can be placed in various drop boxes around campus. Boxes can be found at the Campus Center, Library, Student Services Building, Life Fitness Center, Learning Resource Center and Administration Building.

The nominee must be full-time, exemplify dedicated service to City College, and have not been a previous Faculty Lecturer. They also cannot be from the same department two years in a row.

“Student input is critical to the decision making of the committee,” said Kathy O’Connor, Faculty Lecturer Committee member and physical education professor.

In addition to student nominations, faculty, administrators and staff also cast their votes. The committee, composed of the past seven lecturers, chooses a faculty member based on this year’s, and all previous years’ nominations.

The committee will announce the 2014 honoree at the last Academic Senate meeting, May 8.

“It’s the most prestigious honor we can give to a faculty member,” said O’Connor.

The Faculty Lecturer gives a lecture, usually on their area of expertise, at the date of their choosing. The event is free and open to the public. They receive a $1,500 stipend, and a book composed of all their nominations.

This year’s lecturer was English professor Kathy Molloy.  In her lecture titled, “Those Who Can Teach: Those Who Can’t Go into a Less Significant Line of Work,” she explained the state’s efforts to increase student completion rates, at the same time pushing for students to complete college faster. She also shared her recommendations for better student success.

“We would like nominations for faculty who are dedicated to teaching and helping students be successful,” said O’Connor ” … who are supportive, and are student centered in their approach to teaching and learning.”

Email nominations to Kathy O’Connor, [email protected].

Click here to see the faculty lecturer of the year nomination form.